In LA, some people get to be happy for a living.

There is nothing more humiliating for an aspiring writer in Los Angeles than to go to a café to work. Here at the wonderful Sabor Y Cultura (Spanish for “Culture and Hot Sex”) in Los Feliz, I listen to what looks like the guys who made Boondock Saints talk about their prison break script, another guy muses over his personal poetry on the couch, and one guy is speedwriting a novel with a Bluetooth headset never leaving his cranium.

I came here to write too; for the blog or for my Emma Watson fanfiction is still up in the air. Oh yea, she gonna get it.

Ok, it sounds like the Boondock guys are actually making a prison break series. And I think they have a Hulk in it. I am intrigued.

I am living vicariously through these two men tonight, and that’s also what’s got me churned up. It has become too easy to fall under the hypnotic spell that working for other people is as good as working for yourself.

Doing my best not to sound like Tony Robbins; we need to take control people. I sat back today and saw all of my free time and effort was spent in redistributing others’ creativeness, things that I have an interest in, but nothing that I am emotionally invested into. Nothing that carries my own little spark.

Ok, Boondock Guys’ pilot is in some dead heat against Kevin Smith? Go underdogs!?

I love where I am personally, but some people get to wake up here and have fun for a living. That’s not natural. This is how the world ends.

Donald Glover, a man who is fucking rocking everything and is my age, had a bunch of tweets today about how pumped he was about his upcoming concert. Statements saying, “aren’t all you people pumped for my personal thing? The thing that is me? And you’re all going to take and validate my being?” Of course he’d be excited. And I was excited for him because I can’t be excited about myself.

I used to believe that living vicariously through celebrities was just fantasizing about being beautiful and married to a supermodel and having a ton of money. Now I dream about being in their spot just because people value their creative ideas. Why won’t someone read my script about Robot Murder Island? They all run on young girls’ blood instead of oil!

Teamwork and everyone contributing is vital for most forms of entertainment. Someone has to get coffee, but if you have something you’re “working on”, ask yourself when was the last time you really added to it? Or is it merely been “stewing around” in the back of your head for the past six months?

Get it done.

Chad Quandt is Analogy Editor for Nonstop Karate.
About Nonstop Karate

Created by Chad Quandt and Matt Loman Lonely. Online. Angry due to being online and lonely.

Posted on December 7, 2010, in Chad Quandt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

