Dodge Ram: Shove It, Nature

I am not in the target demographic for Dodge Ram. I cannot afford it. I also prefer my vehicles to have storage room but not have my friends depend on me to help them move.

This Dodge commercial goes for the worst demographic: a subsection of “outdoorsmen” that hate nature. I get it, Every Uncle I’ve Had, you like going out in the woods and living off the land. Shooting deer with a carbon bow, eating it, and then apologizing to its family is a way to escape the stress of big city living. But man Dodge, what mindset does this say for your truck?

A hunter goes out to sleep in the woods (he is not stranded there, that truck is brand new and spotless). But nature is noisy. Gosh, nature. Why you gotta be a dick? So a hunter proceeds to murder all nature because they had to disturb his sleep.

The commercial is a metaphor for all western expansion for the past two hundred years. The direct opposite of this commercial is the “crying indian”.

Posted on May 11, 2011, in Chad Quandt, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

